(A lesson learned)…Kale and Chicken Stir Fry with Peanuts

Standard

I used to have a favorite recipe for Singapore Noodles.  I’m kicking myself for not writing it down then.  Lesson learned!

So I am on a quest to recreate that recipe and I have a feeling I won’t be disappointed along my journey 🙂

As much as I want to call this dish Singapore noodles, I am missing some ingredients.  So I will simply call it a stir fry.

Yields 3 servings

Ingredients:

2 boneless chicken breasts, sliced

1/2 head of broccoli, cut in pieces

1 red pepper, thinly sliced

2 carrots, thinly sliced

2 large handfuls of chopped kale

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tablespoon of freshly grated ginger

2 tsp fish sauce ( i know it sounds gross, but trust me it adds a great flavor to any recipe that calls for it)

3 TBSP soy sauce

2 tsp curry powder

1 TBSP sesame seeds

1/4 cup peanuts

sesame seed oil

Himalayan sea salt, to taste

pepper, to taste

noodles or rice

Directions:

1.  Add 2 TBSP of sesame seed oil over med-high heat and cook garlic for ~20-30 seconds or until fragrant.  Add sliced chicken and cook until done, ~ 7 minutes. IMG_1430

2.  Meanwhile, in a separate bowl and kale and 1 Tablespoon of olive oil and massage the kale for ~3 minutes.  This breaks down the tough cellulose and wilts easier while cooking.

3.  Remove chicken from pan and set aside.  In same pan, add another 1 TBSP of sesame seed oil, grated ginger, fish sauce, soy sauce, curry powder, massaged kale and remaining vegetables.  Give it a good toss, add a few TBSP of water to get a good stir fry action going on, cover with a lid and cook for ~7 minutes or until broccoli is cooked to your liking, occasionally tossing up the veggies and sauce.  IMG_1431

4.  In the last few minutes of cooking, add cooked chicken, peanuts and sesame seeds.  Toss everything together, cover and cook for ~2 more minutes.

IMG_1432

5.  While all this is going on, you should be cooking your choice of starch as well.  I chose these asian noodles called “bean threads” aka glass noodles, but rice will work well with this stir fry, or you can keep it starch free and leave it with chicken and veggies alone.  If you using noodles, add it to the pan and mix it around to let it soak up all the saucy goodness.

IMG_1436

 

I feel like I am so close to recreating my Singapore noodles recipe.  Next time I will add rice wine vinegar, cilantro, rice vermicelli noodles instead of glass noodles, and more curry powder (all these are commonly found in Singapore noodles recipes).  When I nail it I will be sure to share the goodness 🙂

About peacelovenfood

My name is Michelle (Serpas) Hill and I am a Registered Dietitian. I have a genuine passion for all things related to health, wellness and nutrition- mind, body and soul, which is what my blog is about. I was born and raised in Long Island, New York. I look forward to sharing my nutrition knowledge and expertise (via evidence based research), ideas and life experiences with anyone who is interested. I also hope you allow me to share my thoughts on just about anything as long as it aids in my soul-searching journey and peace of mind. Feel free to leave any comments, questions, feedback- anything! In health, Michelle Hill, RD, CDN

Leave a Reply

