“I get by with a little help of my friends”…African Chicken Stew

Standard

I am currently obsessed with Instagram.  Partly because it’s the only social media that works on my phone at the moment, but mostly because it is loaded with health and fitness minded individuals that are also creative and super dedicated to their lifestyle.  It’s become a huge motivator for me and I am inspired everyday by these wonderful people.  I highly suggest you create an environment that is filled with people who share the same lifestyle you have or are working towards having.

So, this blog post  is about a recipe posted by one of the Instagram profiles I follow:  food4health.  He posted about an “African Peanut Chicken Stew” which I have been trying to make for weeks!  The time has come and I am finding myself wishing I would have made it sooner.  I changed just a few things from the original recipe and it still came out BANGING! MMMM!

plated IG

What I love about this recipe is that it is made with clean, whole foods.  The sauce is full of antioxidants and immune system boosting ingredients.  It tastes phenomenal and is also gluten and dairy free!  Omit chicken and replace it with a non animal protein source and you have yourself a vegan meal!  I’m thinking tofu and chickpeas would do the trick.

I have used quinoa as my “starch” for this meal.  Remember, quinoa is not a grain, it is a plant seed.  Click on the link and read all about why it’s so good for you on a past blog post.

Yields:  4 servings

Ingredients:

1 cup dry, roasted peanuts

1 tablespoon coconut oil or extra virgin olive oil

3/4 cup reduced sodium vegetable stock

Juice of half a lemon

1 cup chopped tomatoes

leaves of 5 coriander/cilantro sprigs

2 cloves garlic

1/2 large onion or 1 small onion

thumb size fresh ginger, chopped

1 tablespoon turmeric

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp cayenne pepper

pinch of salt

2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breast, diced

1 cup quinoa, dry OR 1 cup brown rice, dry

1 small broccoli head, chopped

2 carrots, sliced

Directions:

1.  Add 1 cup dry quinoa OR brown rice to 2 cups of water.  Bring to a boil, cover and simmer on a low flame/setting for ~20 minutes  for quinoa or ~40 minutes for brown rice (or until all water is absorbed for both).  Fluff with fork and let stand until ready to serve.

Quinoa

Quinoa

2.  Meanwhile, throw in first 12 ingredients in a blender.  Blend until you have a smooth sauce, consistency of a smooth paste/thick sauce.  Now is a good time to taste test and determine if it needs more salt, ginger, garlic, spices, etc… to meet your liking.

blender

paste

3.  Add diced chicken in a deep pan (I used an electric fry pan) and the blended sauce.  Cook on a medium to medium-high heat until chicken is cooked through ~15 minutes.  (I added an extra pinch of salt at the last stage of cooking, since I didn’t add more after my taste test.)

warning: may experience salivating at this point

warning: you may be salivating at this point

4.  Steam veggies to your desired consistency.

5.  Serve it up on a plate all nice and pretty and gobble it up.

ta-da!

ta-da!

Remember:  If you fail to prepare, you prepare to fail.  Here are two lunches for tomorrow-score!

I can't wait to eat you tomorrow!

I can’t wait to eat you tomorrow!

Again, this recipe is made with clean, whole foods.  No artificial ingredients or additives.  This is clean eating at its finest and your taste buds would be non the wiser.  Go ahead- challenge your taste buds.  They wouldn’t know the difference between this meal and a meal from the “curry in a hurry” shop, but I bet you your stomach and butt would 😉

EAT CLEAN! TRAIN MEAN! LIVE LEAN!

About peacelovenfood

My name is Michelle (Serpas) Hill and I am a Registered Dietitian. I have a genuine passion for all things related to health, wellness and nutrition- mind, body and soul, which is what my blog is about. I was born and raised in Long Island, New York. I look forward to sharing my nutrition knowledge and expertise (via evidence based research), ideas and life experiences with anyone who is interested. I also hope you allow me to share my thoughts on just about anything as long as it aids in my soul-searching journey and peace of mind. Feel free to leave any comments, questions, feedback- anything! In health, Michelle Hill, RD, CDN

One response »

Leave a Reply

