Too good to be true Creamsicles

Standard

“My mind is telling me nooooooo…but my body-my body is telling me yessssss”  (I secretly believe R. Kelly was singing about these creamiscles that I coincidentally stumbled upon myself a few days ago).

My husband is doing a 12 week super clean and lean diet plan and is doing remarkably well.  His willpower is so inspiring!! Anyway, I’m trying to find clean, wholesome recipes for sauces and “treats” so his meals aren’t too bland and boring.  I decided to make protein and yogurt based popsicles using mangoes, yogurt, milk and vanilla protein powder.  They are deeee-licous!  I like to consider this treat a “guilty free, healthy frozen threat”.  Your mind won’t know what to think but your body is screaming “gimme that creamsicle”  and in this case, you should listen and obey!

Yield (using Chobani popsicle molds):  12 popsicles

Ingredients:

3/4 cup or 6 ounces plain Greek yogurt (I highly recommend Chobani Greek yogurt)

2 scoops Vanilla protein powder

***If you only have a non-flavored protein powder, use vanilla greek yogurt instead.

3/4 cup milk

2 ripened mangoes, chopped OR use any fruit you like

See Mango Madness for tips on how to chop a mango.

Directions:

1.  Put all ingredients in a blender.

2.  Blend into oblivion.  Ideally, you want the consistency of a really thick shake.

3.  Carefully pour the mixture into the popsicle molds and stick in the freezer for ~6 hours.

Image

Image

4.  When its time to enjoy, run the mold under warm water for a few seconds to loosen it up a bit.

THE RECIPE WOULDN’T BE OFFICIAL UNTIL IT WAS “DORA APPROVED- 2 TALONS UP”

Image

Feel like having seconds? Go for it! James sure as heck did 😉

Enjoy!!!

About peacelovenfood

My name is Michelle (Serpas) Hill and I am a Registered Dietitian. I have a genuine passion for all things related to health, wellness and nutrition- mind, body and soul, which is what my blog is about. I was born and raised in Long Island, New York. I look forward to sharing my nutrition knowledge and expertise (via evidence based research), ideas and life experiences with anyone who is interested. I also hope you allow me to share my thoughts on just about anything as long as it aids in my soul-searching journey and peace of mind. Feel free to leave any comments, questions, feedback- anything! In health, Michelle Hill, RD, CDN

Leave a Reply

