Mango Madness

Standard

It is finally mango season in Australia.  We want to start incorporating mango salsa into our meals for a nice, clean and delicious addition with lots of flavor (and may I add that there is something about pulling over the side of the road to purchase some newly ripened mangoes from a fruit stand that make them that much tastier!)

So far we have had our mango salsa on grilled chicken breast with coconut rice, as well as crispy skinned salmon.  I hear it goes well with other types of fish and even Mexican style cuisine, such as Fish/ Shrimp Tacos.

I’m sure there are different recipes out there for a mango salsa.  The one I am providing is super simple, yet has lots of flavor.  Feel free to experiment with other ingredients you think may add to the recipe…and please share them with us!

Shell’s Mango Salsa

Serving size: 2 (its okay to be greedy with this one 🙂 )

2 fully ripened mangoes

1 cup chopped cucumber, skin peeled off (unless it is a continental cucumber, then you can leave the skin on)

3 TBSP freshly chopped coriander/cilantro

juice of 1 lime, freshly squeezed

(optional) 1/2 red onion, finely chopped

To chop the mango, I found that cutting along the sides and scoring them like a grid was the easiest.  Then take a knife and carefully slice along the skin and underneath the flesh.

Score the Mango like a grid, careful not to pierce through the skin

  • Add all ingredients together, toss with the fresh lime juice, season with salt and pepper and enjoy!  (for a spicy kick, add a few shakes of tabasco sauce)

    mango salsa with crispy skinned salmon and rice noodles

About peacelovenfood

My name is Michelle (Serpas) Hill and I am a Registered Dietitian. I have a genuine passion for all things related to health, wellness and nutrition- mind, body and soul, which is what my blog is about. I was born and raised in Long Island, New York. I look forward to sharing my nutrition knowledge and expertise (via evidence based research), ideas and life experiences with anyone who is interested. I also hope you allow me to share my thoughts on just about anything as long as it aids in my soul-searching journey and peace of mind. Feel free to leave any comments, questions, feedback- anything! In health, Michelle Hill, RD, CDN

One response »

  1. Pingback: Too good to be true Creamsicles « peacelovenfood

Leave a Reply

