That Clean, Crisp Feeling

Standard

You may have heard of “Clean Eating”.  It is a concept that revolves around eating foods in its most natural form, cooked with very little or no artificial ingredients/flavors.  My husband and I have decided to adopt to this clean eating regimen due to the bottomless french fries bowl which is constantly available at work our new-found love and appreciation to living a healthy, active lifestyle.  This eating regimen really forces you to be creative in adding flavor to your meals using whole foods and none of that preserved, artificial, shelf life stuff.

On our way home from the gym one day, we were having a bit of a winge over our usual steamed broccoli, carrots and mashed sweet potato.  I suggested we make a quick stop to the supermarket.  What were we to buy? I didn’t know yet.  What I did know was I had 5 minutes to figure something out.  Since spring season has just blessed us with its presence, I knew I wanted to make a salad.  I find that Asian inspired salads always have a fresh, clean taste to them.  So I opted for Crispy Skinned Salmon and an Asian noodle salad.

My key ingredients were garlic, ginger and fresh lime juice.  I knew with these three ingredients I would be able to make a clean and healthy meal with HEAPS of flavor!

Unfortunately the picture below does not do it justice.  It was one of the tastiest meals we have had in a while and is now a household favorite.

Crispy Skinned Salmon with Asian Noodle Salad

Serves 2

Ingredients:

2 salmon fillets with skin on

1 TBSP grated fresh ginger

1 TBSP honey

Juice of 1 lime

3 TBSP Rice Wine Vinegar

1/4 cup soy sauce

3 TBSP freshly chopped coriander/cilantro

3 TBSP extra virgin olive oil (for salad)

rice noodles

2 cups fresh roughly chopped cabbage

2 carrots, sliced with a grater or Julienne

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Crispy Skinned Salmon

1. Use a sharp knife to cut two slits on the skin side of one salmon, length wise.  Do the same for the other Salmon fillet.  Each slit no deeper than 1/2 inch.

2.  Sprinkle salt in each slit and over the skin of salmon.

3.  Add a very generous amount of oil to a pan.  Get the pan screaming hot, then carefully add the salmon fillets skin side down.  Let them sit for ~5 minutes.  Flip over and cook through to your liking.

Asian Noodle Salad

1.  Cook Rice Noodles according to its package.

2.  Combine grated ginger, soy sauce, salt, pepper, honey, lime juice and rice wine vinegar and whisk together.

3. Combine cooked noodles, sliced carrots, chopped cabbage, and fresh coriander/cilantro in a bowl.

4.  Add the dressing, followed by 3 TBSP Olive oil to the salad and toss together.

Rest the salmon fillets, skin side up, on a nice heaping serve of Asian salad.  Dig in and enjoy the clean, crisp and super tasty flavors of this healthy, delicious dish.

About peacelovenfood

My name is Michelle (Serpas) Hill and I am a Registered Dietitian. I have a genuine passion for all things related to health, wellness and nutrition- mind, body and soul, which is what my blog is about. I was born and raised in Long Island, New York. I look forward to sharing my nutrition knowledge and expertise (via evidence based research), ideas and life experiences with anyone who is interested. I also hope you allow me to share my thoughts on just about anything as long as it aids in my soul-searching journey and peace of mind. Feel free to leave any comments, questions, feedback- anything! In health, Michelle Hill, RD, CDN

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Mango Madness « peacelovenfood

Leave a Reply

