The Mighty Stuffed Pepper

Standard

Love when my creative juices start flowing…Last week I made a Vegan, Gluten Free Stuffed Pepper- created entirely by me!  This recipe is health, stuffed in a pepper! I feel like a scientist 🙂

I was able to get my hands on some Quinoa, one of my favorite “grains” that is becoming increasingly popular.  If you haven’t heard of it yet, allow me to introduce to you the “Mother Grain” that is Quinoa (pronounced:  Keen-wah).  To be clear, Quinoa is not a grain, it just happens to fall into the category of grain.  Its actually a plant crop that is grown primarily for its seeds, and it is the “seeds” that we cook and consume.

Image

Image

Nutrients in
Quinoa, uncooked
0.25 cup (185.00 grams)
Nutrient%Daily Value

manganese58.5%

tryptophan31.2%

magnesium29.6%

phosphorus28.1%

fiber20.7%

folate19.4%

copper18%

Calories (222)12%

Check out this website for the history, origin, health benefits and nutrient analysis of Quinoa http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?dbid=142&tname=foodspice#nutritionalprofile
Or you can just let me sum it up for you and tell you that you NEED this food in your diet.  Its high in fiber, vitamins and minerals and contains a good amount of amino acids, antioxidants and even essential fatty acids.  Who knew such a small food could make you so healthy and strong?!
On to my recipe!
Vegan Stuffed Peppers (gluten free) (4 Servings)
3/4 cup uncooked quinoa
1 cup chopped mushrooms
1 cup chopped tomatoes
1 small onion chopped
1 cup chopped broccoli
4 Red Bell Peppers
Fresh chopped Basil
Fresh chopped Cilantro
1 teaspoon of Cumin
Pinch of salt and pepper
  1. Get a large pot of water to boil.  Cut the tops of the red peppers and remove the seeds and linings of the pepper.  Place them in the boiling water pot for ~7 minutes.  ImageImage
  2. In another pot, start cooking the quinoa.  Add 1 1/2 cups water to 3/4 cup dry quinoa.  Bring to a boil, and reduce to a simmer for about 20 minutes, or until all water is absorbed (just like rice!).  Remove from heat for about 10 minutes and fluff with fork.   Image
  3. Meanwhile, in a pan, add some oil, sautee onions for about 5 minutes, followed by broccoli, mushrooms, and chopped tomatoes.  Sautee for another 5-8 minutes.  Image
  4. Once quinoa is finished cooking, add it to the vegetable mixture and toss until combined.
  5. Scoop the quinoa veggie mixture into the hollowed out red peppers until topped off. Image Grill the stuffed peppers until the sides are charred.  (You may have to turn them once or twice)  ~ 20 minutes.  Remove from heat, peel the charred skin off the pepper to expose the soft, tender skin underneath.
  6. Enjoy a gluten free, karma free dinner!

TIPS:  I realized that what really made this dish so tasty and delicious was the herbs that I chose to use.  its amazing how much flavor some fresh or dried herbs can give a dish.  Feel free to use your favorite herbs and explore. Remember, the beauty of most vegetarian dishes is you can use whatever veggies your heart desires- have fun with it and if you create your own variation of the MIGHTY STUFFED PEPPER, please feel free to share with us…it may even be tastier than mine! 🙂

About peacelovenfood

My name is Michelle (Serpas) Hill and I am a Registered Dietitian. I have a genuine passion for all things related to health, wellness and nutrition- mind, body and soul, which is what my blog is about. I was born and raised in Long Island, New York. I look forward to sharing my nutrition knowledge and expertise (via evidence based research), ideas and life experiences with anyone who is interested. I also hope you allow me to share my thoughts on just about anything as long as it aids in my soul-searching journey and peace of mind. Feel free to leave any comments, questions, feedback- anything! In health, Michelle Hill, RD, CDN

One response »

  1. Pingback: “I get by with a little help of my friends”…African Chicken Stew « peacelovenfood

Leave a Reply

